RIAS Announces 12 Winners in Awards

12 Jun 2017

RIAS Announces 12 Winners in Awards

The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) announced 12 winners for its 2017 Awards, representing the very best of current Scottish architecture. The judging panel was Ole Wiig FRIAS, Lorraine Landels Hon FRIAS, Stuart McKnight RIAS RIBA (representing the Royal Institute of British Architects) and Karen Anderson FRIAS (Timber Award).

In the sixth year of the restyled awards the RIAS has again teamed up with Forestry Commission Scotland/Wood for Good, Historic Environment Scotland, The Scottish Government, Zero Waste Scotland and Saint-Gobain for our five prestigious sub-category awards.

The RIAS Awards 2017 winners are :

City of Glasgow College - City Campus, Glasgow

Reiach and Hall Architects / Michael Laird Architects


Due West, Argyll & Bute 

cameronwebster architects


Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries, Dunfermline

Richard Murphy Architects

Eastwood Health and Care Centre, Glasgow

Hoskins Architects


Edinburgh Road, Musselburgh 

A449 LTD


Fernaig Cottage, Wester Ross

Scampton and Barnett Architects


Glendale Primary School and Bunsgoil Ghàidhlig Ghleann Dail, Glasgow

Glasgow City Council - DRS Project Management & Design


James Gillespie's Campus, Edinburgh



Moray Place, Edinburgh

Somner Macdonald Architects


Newhouse of Auchengree, North Ayrshire

Ann Nisbet Studio



Powis Place, Aberdeen

Carson & Partners


Rockvilla - National Theatre of Scotland HQ, Glasgow

Hoskins Architects


Special Category Awards:

Special Category Award - the Best Use of TimberThe winner of the Wood for Good/Forestry Commission Scotland Award for the Best Use of Timber was:

Culardoch Shieling, Aberdeenshire by Moxon Architects Ltd Timber

Special Category Award - Conservation and Climate ChangeThe winner of the Historic Environment Scotland Award for Conservation and Climate Change was:

Dalkeith Corn Exchange by Michael Laird Architects

Special Category Award - Resource EfficiencyThe winner of Zero Waste Scotland’s Resource Efficiency Award was:

Fernaig Cottage, Wester Ross by Scampton and Barnett Architects

RIAS President’s Award for PlacemakingHolyrood North Student Accommodation and Outreach Centre, Edinburgh by

jmarchitects, Oberlanders Architects and John C Hope Architects RIAS

Special Category Award – Emerging ArchitectThe winner of the Saint-Gobain Emerging Architect Award was:

Neil Taylor, Taylor Architecture Practice Ltd (T.A.P.) for Aerial Adventures, East Kilbride and the Scottish National Waterski Centre, Dunfermline

Special Category Award - Scotland’s Client of the YearThe winner of the Scottish Government Scotland’s Client of the Year Award was:
Fife Council for Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries by Richard Murphy Architects

The shortlist for the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award, supported by the Doolan family and the Scottish Government (to be presented in November at the National Museum of Scotland) consists of all 12 of the RIAS Awards 2017 winners.

Back to news